Event Status
Registration Open
Registration Closes
Wed 20 Mar 2019 - 5:00 pm
Event Date
Wed 20 Mar 2019 - 5:30 pm to
Wed 20 Mar 2019 - 8:30 pm

Add to: Google Calendar | Outlook/iCal | Other

Engineers Australia Harricks Auditorium Ground Floor 8 Thomas Street Chatswood Australia
Registration: EA Members, Students and ATS Members: $0.00 ($0.00 excl. GST) Non-Member: $30.00 ($27.27 excl. GST)
Maximum CPD Hours
ATS Young Members
Event Contact
Contact:Engineers Australia Member Services Phone: 1300 653 113 Email:
The David Sugden Award 2018 Register

Join Young Members of the Australian Tunnelling Society for an evening of informative presentations from the top three papers of the 2018 David Sugden Award.

Proudly provided by the Australian Tunnelling Society Young Members, the authors of the top three David Sugden Writing Award winning entries will present a summary of their paper and provide insights into the award itself, including the value of technical development and mentoring in tunnelling. 

So, who is David Sugden?

David Sugden was the driving force behind the successful design of mechanical full-face rock excavation machinery over a number of years, resulting in the forging of countless tunnels across the world. David continually showed a commitment to innovation and design throughout his career, often custom making machinery to solve problems that arose and for which no existing devices were available or appropriate. As a result of this attitude, David is listed as the inventor on over 40 patents.

David was been recognised for his contribution to tunnelling and the mentoring of young engineers involved in the field in the form of the Allen Neyland Tunnelling Achievement Award in 1996, an Order of Australia in 2002, and the 2003 A.G.M. Michell Award for his outstanding contribution to Australian Mechanical Engineering.

In 2004, the Australian Tunnelling Society started the David Sugden Award to encourage young engineers to develop the art of technical writing.


The David Sugden  Award 2018 Presenters

Join the top three authors as decided at the 2018 David Sugden Awards.

Matt Bennett Transport Planner | Aurecon

Winner, David Sugden Award 2018

Matt is a transport planner based in Melbourne. As part of a working group focusing on safety impacts on cyclists and pedestrians around Melbourne’s Metro Tunnel Project, Matt’s technical paper outlines the need for the inclusion of vulnerable road users when selecting truck routes for spoil removal.

Aaron Lippett, Tunnel Engineer | Aurecon

Runner-up, David Sugden Award 2018

Aaron’s paper is a case study on the construction of the Arncliffe Ventilation Connection from the New M5 tunnel in Sydney, discussing the ground conditions, technical solutions and construction methods used to construct the shafts and tunnels. Aaron is a Sydney-based tunnel engineer.

Brodie Aitchison, Tunnell Engineer | Aurecon

Runner-up, David Sugden Award 2018

A Brisbane-based tunnel engineer, Brodie’s paper was on the Design and Construction of a Shallow Cover Tunnel Junction, which was part of his design work undertaken on the WestConnex New M5 Tunnel. The paper outlines the design concept, constraints, methods used to design and build the tunnels.