Electrical College Awards Evening 2015

The Engineers Australia Electrical College seek to identify, recognise and reward outstanding achievement and eminence in the practice of electrical engineering, and conspicuous service to the profession.

The Electrical College Awards Dinner is the electrical engineering industry’s premier event of the year and will be held in Sydney at the Park Royal, Darling Harbour.

Join us in celebrating the achievements of our colleagues by attending this prestigious event.

2015 MA Sargent Medal Winners

Dr Alexander Zelinsky HonFIEAust
Dr Zelinsky's career spans innovation, science and technology, research and development, commercial start-ups and education. As a scientist and engineer he has developed and applied computer vision technology for the further development of the robotics field. He has made novel scientific contributions in algorithms, methods, mechanisms and systems for real-time computer vision. Much of his work has focused on mobile robotics, human-machine interaction and intelligent vehicles.

Dr David Keith Sweeting HonFIEAust CPEng
Dr Sweeting has made world class contributions to science and the practice of engineering. He leads Australia and the world with his knowledge and engineering know how in many fields. Since 2001 Dr Sweeting has worked as an Honorary Visiting Professorial Fellow at the University of Wollongong. This work has contributed to the training of hundreds of power engineers through short courses on Power Quality and his modules on “High Voltage Engineering” in the newly developed “Master of Power Engineering” degree.

2015 National Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year Winner

Dr Ralph H Craven FIEAust CPEng
Dr Craven has broad experience in energy, resources, infrastructure and agri-business having worked in these sectors for over 35 years. His professional background encompasses electricity and gas businesses, mining, commodities trading, and the management of large scale system operations at the national level and the delivery of major infrastructure projects.

2015 Graduate Electrical Power Engineer of the Year

Ms Alexandra Price MIEAust
Ms Price is an electrical engineer, well into obtaining her Chartered Professional status with three years of protection system network engineering experience. She holds a first class honours degree and University medal in Electrical Engineering from the University of Queensland. She has worked in a number of organisations, published a number of papers and contributed as committee member for EESA, IEEE and CIGRE. In 2014 Ms Price was awarded the CIGRE 2014 Session Young Engineer Scholarship and in previous years a number of awards from IEEE and the university.

The evening will commence with pre dinner canapes where you will have the opportunity to engage with:

  •     representatives of the Electrical College and the Information, Telecommunications and Electronics Engineering (ITEE) College of Engineers Australia
  •     representatives of the Electrical Energy Society of Australia (EESA)
  •     representatives of the Society of Building Services Engineers (SBSE)
  •     representatives of the National Committee on Space Engineering (NCSpE)
  •     consultants and contractors
  •     academics and students
  •     manufacturers and suppliers

During the awards ceremony you will be tempted by a two course plated menu and drinks package.

Dress Code: Lounge Suit

Industry support for the awards night is still available. The event will be an ideal opportunity for the electrical engineering industry to celebrate the profession and the outstanding talent of the individual award winners. If you are interested in sponsoring this event please contact Natasha Diduk at [email protected].

Table bookings are available.


2015 Silver Sponsor

Event Details


Fri 28 Aug 2015 - 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm



PARKROYAL Darling Harbour, 150 Day Street Sydney


$120.00; Member and Guest $240.00
Non Members: 
$135.00; Table of 10 $1100.00


Electrical College Board

Key Speaker(s)

Ron Scollay, Principal Engineering Consultant - Machine Monitor

Event Contact

Natasha Diduk
02 6270 6584